And then it arrived….

Amazon Prime has changed the way I shop.  I do have the disadvantage of not being near a metropolitan area.  Fortunately, the internet offers me a wide range of vendors from which to choose.  Mostly, Amazon wins because my payment information is in one place not 1,000 across the internet. Also, as a Prime Member I don’t pay for shipping for each purchase (but I do get hit for a large charge annually). On top of that, many items have a guaranteed 2 day delivery.  The PE770 and hoops had  this guarantee.  No waiting a week  anxiously watching as my package crosses the country. I ordered. Two days later FedEx drives up and wanted DH to unload this dang package from the back of the truck. I should have told FedEx he was lucky. (1) I have a DH who insists upon handling large or heavy packages and (2) my Designer Ruby came in 2 large, verrrrrrrrrrrrrrrry heavy packages.  I can actually lift the PE770 package myself. But it is a little difficult to bus about, so I let DH unload the boxes from the truck and move them downstairs to my sewing table where I unpacked.

I think mine is slightly more Periwinkle than this photo indicates. I mean mine has a purplish cast not visible in this photo.

The arm is separate from the machine (both in the same box) but both are pretty trim.  I know the MC9500 was bigger having much more depth and weight. As I recall even the Bernette Deco was a little stockier and weighed a bit more. We’ll not talk about how massive my mid-sized Designer Ruby is or the even bigger machines I left in the store.  The box was about half-filled with styrofoam. Manufacturing has realized that no matter how many Fragile, Handle With Care and This Side Up stickers are placed on a box, Shipping will toss boxes around and the contents will be damaged. The only way to insure a product is not damaged before the box is opened, is to surround it tightly with styrofoam.  In addition to the two major parts (arm and base), there is a small case of accessories, a large spool of bobbin thread, the electric cord and 3 different user manuals.  I do believe that Brother is doing their best to help the Newby to machine embroidery. My trouble with manuals is that they are in multiple languages.  I can be confused trying to find the instructions in my language.  Sigh, I do realize that to thrive, the companies need to sell world-wide. Still, I can be confused hunting through the manuals. It can be  overwhelming just to see  this huge manual. You think OMG. Then find out all you need to read is about 1/5 (20%) of the contents.  I’m surprised the greenies haven’t attached this practice of publishing the manuals in multiple languages whatever the final destination.  This does seem like a  real waste of paper (trees). But then I don’t want to be forced to download all the manuals so maybe I should keep my criticisms to myself.

I placed the chassis on the stand previously occupied by the MC9500; and slid the arm into place until I heard the distinctive click.  I found the electric cord and plugged both ends in — one to the machine the other in the surge protector.  Then I fished out a bobbin from the accessory case. I was surprised at the thickness of the bobbin.  It takes the same size “A” bobbins as the MC9500.  I thought “L” size  was the standard and was surprised to be using this size. I’m sure the  “L”  is the size I used with the Deco and that’s the same size  I use with Ruby.  Interestingly, the manual recommends winding my own bobbins and lectures at length against using anything other than the provided bobbins. — Bet me.— Bobbin winding has been the bane of my sewing for as long as I can remember. I absolutely know I cannot wind a bobbin as evenly or as full as the pre-wound bobbins (PWB) that I buy.  So despite dire warnings, I popped in one of my A bobbins. I do love the top loading bobbin configuration and especially the thread path the Brother provides.  I had the same thread path with the Deco.  I was never sure if I was correctly threading the MC9500′s bobbin. OTOH, my Ruby is very picky. I must guide the thread under a little nubbin that I hold open with my thumbnail. If I don’t thread Ruby’s bobbins just so, she won’t make a decent stitch.   I was so pleased with the PE770 bobbin system. It’s familiar and easy to execute.

And I continued to examine my new machine….

 

3 responses to this post.

  1. And where is a picture of this buty? Lucky woman! I have to get some custom orders so I could earn some money to buy my dream sewing machine… I have to have a little more patience…

Comments are closed.

