Testing Stitching…

Next I tried the automatic threader. !!!!!Holy Batman!!!!! I’m sold.  Following the directions the first time was a pain. There are lots of diagrams accompanying the written instructions. Unfortunately some of the areas the thread needs to traverse are small and not easily illustrated. But I got it! I swear when I push the lever downward, the thread just shoots through the needle’s eye. It is fabulous. I’m telling you buy this machine for the automatic threader alone.

I’m a believer that the internal designs tell you how your machine  is designed to work. This may not be the way you want it to work, but it is the way the manufacturer designed. Your choice is (1) like what the machine does or (2) send the machine back. I hooped my new-to-me  5×7″ hoop, without looking at Brothers instructions, and chose a design from those within the machine.  Surprisingly, I like a lot of the designs.  I don’t do cutesy cartoons. Never even had a desire for the D*$ne% designs.  I prefer heirloom and artist quality designs.  I understand I’m in the minority  in that I like most of the internal designs. I probably won’t use the lettering. Most people are the opposite. The 4 internal fonts are all they need and all they will probably use of the internal designs. I have the Font module for Embird. It’s more than I need. I have no desire to learn another font program when the one I have works perfectly for me.  I know it’s surprising. I do love technology and I’m a long time IT professional. But when it comes to some things, Machine Embroidery included, I don’t want to fuss with computer and program  issues. I want to direct my machine to do my will.  Ok that’s a little egotistical.  Size it down to the fact that when I’m embroidering, I want easy, reliable experience not a learning curve.

I had no problems with the screen.  The MC9500, like the Deco500, was  a back-lit single color screen. The MC9700 introduced color but I didn’t own it.  My Ruby has a color  and  much larger screen. I prefer to do my editing at the big PC. So a bigger screen and more colors are not critical items for me.  Also, having used embroidery machines before, I understood what to do.  I found the menu to be slightly different from the MC9500 and the Deco500 but easy to decipher.  I understand how a Newby could be totally dismayed and send the machine back because they couldn’t figure out how to stitch out a design.  There’s a lot to take in when you are machine embroidering. Ther is: Setting up the machine. Threading top and bobbin. Loading a hoop. Navigating the menu to select a design.  Brother tries to help with its multi-language manual and lots of diagrams. The manual  has 5 pages alone for instructions to use the USB connection. I think the whole process can be overwhelming or daunting.  Because of my previous experience, I didn’t have any problems.  For me, the icons looked like what they were and did what they were supposed to.  We clicked, me and 770.  YMMV.

But I should admit I would never have chosen a single design for actual use based on the screen was display.  The icons are simply uninspiring. In the back of  the Quick Start Guide are 6 pages illustrating the various designs which include thread colors and stitching order.  There are also a few charts on line. For my first embroidery with the PE770,  I chose to stitch out a single color design. It’s a lacy design, but not FSL(free standing lace). It stitched out just beautifully.  Made me wonder if  I could use it in a project.

I think this design is Beautiful. I didn’t use any stabilizer. I think the puckering will completely disappear when I add stabilizer.

I stitched out the above design with the5x7 ” hoop. I then tried out my other hoops.  I just clicked them in and out. Didn’t hoop up any fabric or stitch anything.  All I wanted to know is if they fit securely. The machine doesn’t really know what hoop it is carrying. It knows the size of the design but trusts you to install the correct hoop. Once satisfied that my after-market hoops would fit, I put them away. Someone complained on Amazon that they didn’t work. My set is fine. No issues at all. No quality or finishing criticisms.  Just a lot of gratitude at being able to buy all 4 hoops for a miniscule price.

Hallelujah!! Hallelujah!!! !!!.  Yes I’m singing praises—-for the hoop configuration.  My Janome hoops had to be filled by placing the connector over the edge of my cutting table, then layer the stabilizer, fabric and topper over the bottom hoop; followed by adding the top hoop. .  If the connector didn’t dangle over the edge,  the hoop wobbled uncontrollably.  It’s hard enough to line up fabric, stabilizer and topper in the hoop and then  tighten the hoop screw without all the wobbling.  Numerous people have purchased a Janome Clothsetter not for alignment purposes but so that the hoop would be held in a steady position.  The 770′s hoops are perfectly flat on the bottom. I need only put the bottom part down, align my fabric and then firmly push the top part of the hoop into the bottom.  I tighten the screw slightly,  finish adjusting my fabric before tightening the screw a final time.  For me this is a wonderful change making hooping a whole lot more pleasant experience.

After the internal design, I selected a design from the USB thumb drive. This was even easier than selecting an internal design. Well for me it’s easier because I have a long-standing habit of loading onto the thumb drive only the design(s) I will be using for the current project. For the PE770, the designs need to be copied to the  the root. Don’t get all efficient and make subdirectories. This is not the machine that will drill down a directory tree; and like all the other embroidery machines (including my fabulous Designer Ruby) , the PE770 has limited memory.  If you try to make it read a bunch of files, the 770  will be slow.  Since I had only 2 designs on my thumb drive, they popped up immediately on the screen AND I was able to immediately recognize them! I was afraid I’d get somthing like DZN1, DZN2, etc.  I was working on a motifs for FSL table-cloth when the MC9500 died. So I saved the files in PES format and brought it to the PE770.  On th ePE770′s screen, I could easily tell the difference between the two designs. The PE770 stitched just as beautifully as the MC9500. I can’t tell the difference between motifs stitched by the MC9500 and motifs stitched by the PE770. I’d say that’s good and enough.

One notable difference about the stitching is the speed at which the PE770 works.  650 stitches per minute is awesome. I thought the MC9500 was faster than the Bernette Deco. This PE770 blows them both away.  The PE770 took half the time to stitch the same FSL motif I was using with the MC9500. The settings offer the option of changing to 350 max stitches per minute. I’ll try that if I have problems, say like with metallic threads. But I’m sold on this 650 stitch-out rate. It is fabulous and reason enough to buy the machine.

 

So far…….

loving my PE770 Embroidery Machine.

One response to this post.

  1. I predict lots of fun and enviably decorated garments. :)

Comments are closed.

