Vests

***Update on the 2908’s:  No I haven’t cut another pair.  But I received my copy of Sandra Betzina-s Fast Fit book. Truly, I didn’t expect it until sometime next week. I both buy and sell through Amazon.  I can tell you that I have never sold a book that could be shipped Priority Mail for $3.99 and was stunned when this was sent to me using the same service.  However, I was greatly excited to have it in my hands and tried to read Fast Fit at the same time I was watching Avatar. I found several alterations to be interesting.  The knock knees which I mentioned in the last post, but also the high hip and full calves.  I’m not sure I have a high hip and will pursue this after I fix my other wrinkles.  The knock knees seem likely.  The wrinkles are right and my knees do rather resemble the picture.  But I’ve tried the knock knee alteration in the past without any improvement. Nada. Zip. Nothing.  Not one single wrinkle less.  The Full Calves caught my attention because I’ve been corrected on my posture numerous times in my life often with someone hissing “unlock your knees”.  Locking my knees causes my calves to extend behind me equal to and beyond my posterior.  Sometimes giving me a bowlegged look.  My deliberate effort to correct my posture can cause the opposite or knock kneed look.  So next time I do pants, I’m going to try the full calves alteration.  If it doesn’t work, it is easy to undo.  Adjusting for full calves involves adding extra on the inseam from just above the knee all the way to the ankle.  If it doesn’t work, it’s a simple matter to lay the original leg pattern on top and cut off the excess.  Keep you posted ****

 

Thinking I had at least a week  before I could work on my pants again, I felt I needed to be kept occupied. So, I switched my focus to vests. I love my vests. I add extra pockets and place them high on the inside above my uh chest. Into these pockets go my special, secret tools: PDA, IPOD, CELL. In a vest my tools are kept close at hand, protected from bumps, thumps and theft. I’ve tried other solutions. I don’t like my tools bouncing around on my waist, flipping around and thumping my hip or butt. Every carrier I’ve ever had was never fully secure. I must be very talented because I either lost the tool or lost the carrier. Either way, the vest, my wonderful VESTS are the bestest solution for me. But I’ve run into this wardrobe problem. I’ve been so in love with my embroidery machine that every item of clothing is highly embellished. Resulting is clothes that are color coordinated, but don’t look good together. The clashing of embellishments and secondary colors has become a nightmare.

 

Near the end of winter , I delibertly added plain, unembellished T-shirts, in netural colors. I’ve decided I need to do the same with my summer vests. Summer as opposed to vests worn in the winter which add a layer of warmth. These will be largely unlined, but interfaced as needed and have zero or limited embellishments. I’m thinking tone-on-tone embroidery or some other type neutral decoration.  I’ve also decided upon neutral colors black/gray, navy blue and brown. 

 

If you’ve been following me for a while, you already know that I resorted fabrics last fall and sorted fabrics with 1.5, yards, 1 yards and less than 1 yards into seperate stacks.  It is reasonable to expect to make a vest with 1 yard of fabric.  All I need is a back and 2 fronts.  I can either fully line, which I do for cool weather wear, or using facings or bindings.  The brown was easy to choose.  I have about 1.25 yards left from TJ906 jeans.  So I will have jeans and matching vest.  The black I chose is a rayon left over from a pair of pants made Oh about 6 years ago.  It is a wonderful drapey fabric so even thought the pants were wide legged, they hung close to the body and gave the appearance of a much slimmer me. Unfortuantely, they didn’t survive too long. I’m tough on pants.  But a vest, will get much gently wear and care.  The desire for a blue vest is a problem though. 

 

I have a lovely piece of blue serge.  I haven’t done a burn test, but I can smell the wool while steaming.  It does not appear to be shrinking which leads me to believe that it is a wool/something blend.  It is light weight and without a lot of body.  It might have made a great skirt.  There’s about 1.75 yards only 45 inches wide which a strange pattern of fading.  Not irregular enough to be attractive and not regular enough to be intentional.  I put this back on the shelf.  I might be able to something with if I did silk screening, stamping or the like.  Or it might be OK for a small accessory, purse, belt etc.  But like it is? For a vest? No. I looked and looked.  I have 2 other nice pieces of navy blue fabric in 2.5 yard lengths.  Perfect for pants.  Also the fabrics are perfect for pants.  I acutally did pull out one piece and start to remove wrinkles.  Then decided there must be another solution – without a trip to the fabric store.  So I turned to my HomeDec/Craft fabrics.  These fabrics are stored seperately for a reason.  They are often the 1/4 yard and less fabrics that I can’t see how to work into garments.  Or they are HomeDec fabrics I bought specifically for a HomeDec project.  There are also blemished fabrics- like the serge- that are there because they cannot easily be used in garment construction.  I know there are talented people who could combine one, two or three of these fabrics and make a fabulous garment.  But I don’t have that talent. 

 

Anyway, I’m search the HomeDec/Craft fabrics hoping for a solution or at least inspiration.  Achewawa  all I get is a big, ole, humonguous mess.  So I start carefully refolding the HomeDec/Craft fabrics.  Looking at the fabrics without looking specifically for blue, I see a number of pieces that would make good vests.  Some would take extra embellishments. Others would be beautiful on their own. And I do sort them out and stack in their own little stack, along with some blues that might be good. Finally inspiration strikes.  I realize that I have small yardages of 2 different fabrics which would work good with the serge.  Ummmm . I’ve noticed in the past that flaws in fabrics simply disappear during piecing projects.  Could this happen if the serge is cut into strips and stitched together with the other 2 fabrics?? 

 

No photos today.  But as I do some trials, I’m sure I’ll have something to share.

