LYCRA IS THE DEVIL’S INVENTION Part VII and Final Post

***Hope I have these posts numbered correctly.  I realize now, that I think knits are easy because I don’t think about most of the things I wrote.  I just do it.  Including testing my stitches, I just do it and I do something very similar whether I’m using knit, woven or flannel.  If I was just starting sewing, I might be terribly confused and I might think knits were hard.  Point is, I think I understand better the person who feels that knits are hard because I realized just how many decisions are needed to create a successful knit garment.***

 

Preparation is done. Now, JUST SEW. At your own speed, in your own way. I frequently ignore the sewing directions recommended by the pattern.  I’ve learned that the pattern companies recommend the procedure which fits on a designated number of their pages. They aren’t recommending the best way, or a new way. Heck they don’t always even give you all the steps. They perceive an obligation to give instructions. They give what they can (some procedures are hard to describe and illustrate but easy to do and produce fabulous results); and assume you have the knowledge or resources to figure it out. Also for me, if it’s a TNT, I’ve probably changed something and need to accommodate the change.  If it’s self-drafted, becoming more and more of a reality for me, I make my procedural decisions based on what has worked best for me in the past.

 

You should find that sleeves are easy to install.  Quite the change from all that had to be done for a woven set-in sleeve; and generally knits don’t need to hang before being hemmed.  I’ve not had the problem of knits growing during wear.  However, if it’s a woven fabric with lycra all bets are off.  In fact woven fabric with lycra content need a whole different set of posts.

 

Some sewing sessions are Learning Experiences. Yeah they turn into wadders. The question is when to cut and run. You are not alone. I assure you, I have problems with this question too. I don’t mind working out the issues, if I can create a lovely, wearable garment in the end. That doesn’t always happen. I cut and run when:

 

 

  • I’ve made a horrible cutting mistake. I’ve seen some people recover from that and all I can say is “I wish I could even think like they do.” I have started putting the item and all it’s pieces on a hanger or some place where I can view it and at least make an effort to recover. But if it sits as a UFO for the rest of the season– it’s gone.
  • The pattern is wrong. Again, I do try to recover and most of the time I can. But one of my wadders this year was a beautiful herringbone wool. The pattern had error after error. The sleeves were too tight. Then the lining was too short. The one that killed me was realizing that the front neckline would gape at least 6 inches on a winter coat – which had already been interfaced, underlined, lined, and sleeves inset. No way I want prairie winds blowing down my front side.
  • I keep making mistake after mistake.  There’s no way around this one, sometimes it’s all me.  It’s like my head isn’t screwed on and my thinking processes are off.  Sometimes I can put this aside and come back later with a successful finish.  But most of the time if it starts badly and continues, I may as well throw it in the trash and start something new.

 

If the things above happen, it doesn’t matter how much the fabric cost or how much time I’ve put into the project.  I’ve learned not to let these things torture me, but to try and learn lessons.  I do have a CheckPoints notebook.  I’m accumulating notes of things to check to ensure fitting – that seems to be my biggest issue. And I do set goals.  This year I’m working on crepe and slithering, slinky fabrics.  Because it’s a goal, I expect to have errors and disappointments.  The objective is to challenge myself and make myself work at accumulating skill and knowledge.

 

Good luck with your sewing.  Hope to see your beautiful knit creations at your blog.

