The Digital Camera

WARNING: Multi Post single subject.  Big sigh, but I just cannot seem to say what I want to say in 10 words or less.  I do admire those bloggers who tell the story with a picture or two and just a few words. It’s easy reading and mood lifting.  I also enjoy those bloggers who post detailed tutorials and document their sewing with pictures and words.  Occasionally I run across the blogger who writes short stories instead of blog posts.  While I enjoy the post, I do find that my mind wanders.  A long post usually does not hold my attention.

With that in mind, I regret my own long posts.  But I need them.  Yes I need to make long posts for myself.  This exercise of sewing and blogging has improved my sewing tremendously.  I must have 5000 pictures of my b!tt out in blogland and I have perfect fitting trousers, jeans, and shorts in my closet because of it. Spending the time to take those pics, load them to the Internet and then write about what I’m doing and what I’m thinking has gradually resulted in improved fit.  It’s taken me 4 years, but I can say I have perfect fitting pants, woven tops, and Tshirts.

I’d say that the digital camera is the best fitting aide ever developed. It is of course combined with the computer, a little PhotoShopping, some thought and the inevitable pattern alterations.

When I started sewing, let’s just say it was in the late 60’s, we really didn’t fit the patterns. No that’s true. We took measurements and compared to the pattern companies measurements and then made the dress, blouse or whatever.  My measurements showed clearly that I was shorter than the pattern was designed for and  both my bust and waist (I was just teenager) were much smaller than the measurements listed on the pattern. The first fit showed that the shoulders were too long.  How did my teacher, because I was in public education with an educated instructor leading and critiquing; and how did she solve my issues?  She said to hem 3 inches instead of two; recommended a padded bra and shoulder pads to “fill out those shoulders and the chest”.  BTW the bust dart fell in the right place but the chest area of the dress/blouse collapsed towards the waist. The waist and hips always seemed too tight. Sleeves were always too long.  I settled on separates because they gave me a better fit right out of the envelope.  One of my aunts kindly suggested I might be more satisfied if instead of making the hem 1 inch deeper, I removed an inch above the waist.  She pointed out that I, like her and many of my female relatives, seemed a bit short waisted.   I liked that alteration immediately.  I did buy the padded bras and shoulder pads which could be why  my subsequent teachers (I took sewing all 4 years of High School and 2 semesters in college) never suggested further alterations.  I keep thinking it’s just odd though.  Because I don’t remember very many pattern alterations, fit alterations suggested to anyone else either.

Around 20-25 years ago I stumbled into Kwik Sew patterns.  The KS block was just enough different that I started having clothes that fit better than RTW.  I also stumbled into a group of ladies who loved garment sewing and introduced me to Sewing Seminars.  I begin learning about fit at the Sewing Seminars.  Fitting the pattern to the body implies a love and acceptance of yourself. This was a pretty happy time of my life and I knew that others loved and accepted me as I was. I began experimenting with more alterations.  Some of alterations were success, some were, well hilarious.  I wore them all at least once.  But it wasn’t until I retired, stumbled upon the Stitchers Guild and purchased my own digital camera and tripod that my pattern alterations started making sense and my fit noticeably improved.

Yes I’d say that the digital camera is the best fitting tool I’ve discovered.

