Screen Print?

Not exactly.  My pattern is Loes Hines 5213.  I love the sewing process Loes uses.  There are no darts.  All the darts have been rotated to the seam lines.  I did place the back on a fold thereby eliminating some shaping and the center back seam:

Despite the incorporated shaping, this pattern is definitely for knits or very stretchy wovens.  It is close fitting, which of course gives a much trimmer appearance to the wearer.  I removed 1″ from the length including the sleeves.  The body is fine but the sleeves hang all the way to my first knuckle.  I prefer sleeves to end at or below my wrist bone  but this fine for an occasional top.  I love this pattern, but I’m excited about my embellishment made with:

and

 

or fabric markers and a stencil.  I’ve had the fabric markers at least two years.  I use them with machine embroidery.  There just are times when no matter how well you think you’ve stabilized, the fabric will shift and the outline will be off. (There are several other possible factors for outline not matching the design.)  To me it’s eye-jarring and even DH will ask about the “space around the design”.  I learned this trick from another machine embroiderer, fill in the blank with fabric markers.  It’s amazing at how a matching or near matching fabric marker can make the empty space just disappear. The fabric marker is the perfect solution for this common embroidery problem most especially since it usually occurs when a) it’s a purchased completed garment for which you have no replacement and b)it’s an object you made from scratch and there is absolutely not a remnant of fabric left with which to cut out a replacement piece.

 

I always recap these tightly when they leave my hand -not necessarily when I’m finished but before I let a marker out of my hand I recap- and placed back in their plastic case and then within a plastic drawer that secures fairly well.  I think that’s why they are still good and strong nearly 2 years later. I’ve used them frequently–not every project but frequently– but I never thought of using them as a stand alone embellishment until now.

 

I was half way through the sewing. I mean I had the sleeves sewn to the front and back, the front and back sewn together and the binding complete.  To be done, I needed to sew the long side seams and hem. When Bam it hit me that I already had a perfectly neutral, long sleeve grey top in my closet.  From my Autumn 2010 6PAC

 

and I have to confess that it doesn’t get worn much.  Partly because I don’t like wearing that particular knit fabric. It’s kind of scratchy which is surprising since it was marked 100% cotton. But point is, I already had a really plain grey top and didn’t want another really plain grey top–but this one was almost complete.  What could I do to make it perkier.  No black lace; didn’t want to hoop it up for embroidery now; didn’t want to do anything that would reduce the elasticity of the garment (been there done that. What a pain to pull on or off).   I was sincerely considering trying my hand at silk screening.  I’ve been collecting the supplies and equipment I need for silk screening and I’m ready to take a stab at it–except that I wanted to get this done. Now. Silk screening would have delayed me at least 3 days.  I need time to experiment.  Time to cut a stencil. Time to let the paint dry. I was looking through my small collection of stencils when I spied this little one:

 

…and I just realized, I mean the ol’ left brain sent me a picture of using the fabric markers. Fabric markers dry almost instantly; are washable within 24 hours and I didn’t want a lot of color really, just black.  I did decide to use the blue first and the black over/around the first color.  I use colored pencils in sketching. I love the way layering adds depth and interest.  I did experiment first. Took about 30 minutes and a small scrap of fabric testing black alone and blue with black; and part or all of the stencil.  I went for symmetrical use on the sleeves:

 

… asymmetrically on the neckline

 

running over the shoulder and onto the back:

 

It took less time to stencil my garment than to experiment with the fabric markers!  I let the ink dry while I cleaned up; putting all my tools and supplies away. In less than 5 minutes of drying time, I was back at the serger to complete my garment.

 

I loved this and will use it again.  I do like love tone-on-tone embellishments. When I find easy, quick ways to make stencils, I’ll be using these markers much more. I may even being buying bigger sets.

 

*****PS this completes garment #2 for my 2011 Winter 6PAC

