New Toy Alert: Bic 24+4

I love using Markers with my fabric projects.  Markers are easy to use. No set up. No clean up. Permanent.  My biggest complaints are that blending and layering have hardly any effect AND that they come in so few colors. I was tickled pink when I discovered BIC 24+4 a set of 24 permanent colors from Bic:
Photobucket

Photobucket
The Plus 4 are all black markers:
Photobucket

I felt like these were especially developed for me. Look closer at the pic’s. Essentially there is a light, medium and dark in each of 8 colors. When I first started machine embroidery, I discovered that if I had a light, medium and dark of a color, I could stitchout any design with enough color depth to make it look real. Or at least real good. In fact as time went along, I derided the digitizer who needed 7 shades of the same color. I still refuse to even test the embroidery design with 30 thread changes. I feel strongly that a digitizer that changes colors that often is not aware of the physical properties of thread and the effect of light upon the thread. In My Opinion, the digitizer who needs that many colors has not really become a master of machine embroidery because they can’t or won’t use the inheritant thread qualities fully.

Anyway, when I saw that the Bic24 follows my own guide of a light, medium and dark for each color, I grabbed the package and bought it. I think BIC has provided me with a very good pallet of markers.

