Sally

aka my new Huskylock S21
Photobucket
came home with me from July’s Sewing Club. I’ve been wanting to upgrade my Janome 634D.  I liked the little 634D but I have issues.  The upper looper comes undone very easily.  I usually have to rethread once or twice during each project as well as when I start the new project.  I also wanted to be able to use a wider variety of decorative threads.  I was especially desirous of a cover stitch machine but I don’t have space for a 4th machine (sewing machine, embroidery machine, serger, cover stitch.).

The S21 solved my biggest issue (which I’ve already tested ) with its pressure foot extra height.  I could count on the 634D unthreading whenever I serged over 4 or more fabric layers.  It was especially temperamental on  corduroy and denim, two fabrics that I use extensively.  The S21 has so many little niceties. The pressure foot was adjustable on the 634D but I needed to manually mark the starting point (with a permanent marker) and then adjustment was twist and test; twist and test; twist some more.  By having marked the starting point I could easily return to factory default.  Sally, the S21, has a knob with increments clearly marked.  It’s much easier to both turn this knob and return to default. I love the knob by which you select fabric and stitch types and Sally sets tensions and pressure foot height automatically. I can then tweak all settings. I do have to manually engage the differential feed but to be honest I like to control that feature myself.  So it’s more like, I get to engage differential when I think I need it.

I was really anxious about the rolled hems.  I love and use both flat and rolled hem finishes frequently.  I was really pleased to find that the process is even simpler with Sally than it was with the Janome.  Sally also has a built-in two thread conversion.  Adding the little wire wasn’t all that difficult but I was always afraid I’d lose the little wire and so shied away from flatlocking and two-thread hems.   I swooned when I found out that the acrylic extension table was a standard included accessory.  But what really sold me was …

…. the ease with which Sally converts to a cover stitch machine.  It is a 4 step process (change needle positions, rethread loopers, set cover stitch switch and add cover stitch table) but each step is relatively simple.  I mean throwing a switch is as easy as turning on a light.  The only hinky part for me is changing the needle positions which isn’t any worse than changing needle types when changing fabric types. Because the cover stitch and standard serging is all in one machine, I don’t need to change needles and thread a separate machine when I want to cover stitch.  Many times, I’ve read blog posts from owners of stand alone cover machines, saying that it was time-consuming and more expense( more needles more cones of thread) and they sometimes chose a different hem method for that very reason.

So why didn’t I choose the TOL? Well I don’t believe that Bernina is a better machine, just more $$$. HV did offer one step up from the S21.  The S25  has 5 threads (like you see in expensive RTW) and an electronic owner’s manual.  I’m not impressed with the 5th thread.  I don’t see a need for it in my life. As far as the electronic owner’s manual, they did give me a DVD which I can load on the Netbook I keep downstairs.  I happen to like to be able to make notes in the hard copy manual.  I think the S25 also has one more lamp.  I have an independent lamp that can be mounted where I want more light.  In short, I just didn’t think these 3 extra’s were worth and extra $400.

Want to learn more about my Sally?  Go the Husqvarna Viking site here.

One thought on “Sally

Comments are closed.