Milestones

I think it was my Dad who introduced me to the concept of mile stones.  He said it came from the Roman days of building roads and a special mark when each mile was completed.  It would have been important to road builders and marching armies.  Probably a curiosity or passing interest for a traveler.  Unless you were loaded down and were required to travel so many miles before resting.  Would have been pretty important then, I think.

The milestone I’m thinking of today has to do with an unspoken goal, that of reorganizing my embroidery design files so that it’s easier for me to find what I want when I want it. I haven’t spoken or written about this goal because I started working on this goal August 2012 and elected not to establish a time limit.  No time limit because it is a gargantuan task and I wanted to be able to “rest” from it whenever and for however long I want. This is a gargantuan task because I’ve been collecting digitized embroidery files for between 20 and 30 years.  I was collecting designs before I even purchased a machine!  …and I collected everything.  At the time and with great effort, portions of designs could be aggregated to create a new design.  At least that was my excuse for spending hours upon hours downloading and saving many of those files.  My file management  changed over time for various reasons. When I first started blogging, I decided that I wanted to be able to identify the digitizer whenever I used one of my files. However 6 years later, the vast majority of files are still unidentified (as to their digitizer).What I have created is a partially redundant system which causes me to expend hours hunting through several different folders.  Most of time when I use a file, I still have to admit I don’t know who the digitizer was.  I find myself frustrated by seeing duplicates and looking in duplicate folders.  I don’t have a clear idea as to how many designs I really have because they are duplicated.  My intent last August was to combine the major folder “Digitized Designs” with the major folder “Embroidery Collections” with sub-goals to reducing the amount of duplicate files and to remove files that I know *I won’t use.

Today, some 6 months later I’m pleased to announce I’ve reached a milestone for this project.  I have combined the major folders Digitized Designs and Embroidery Collections.

Yay me!!!

*During all that frantic collecting I acquired files that are subjects I’m not interested in using as well as files that are poorly digitized. At this time in my life, I don’t want to even look through them and certainly don’t want the repeat experience of using a poorly digitized file. I have established a new folder “NotLikely”. I can’t bear simply deleting these files that I spent so much time downloaded. But, in truth, I don’t want to consider them for any of my projects.  I hope one day soon, I’ll delete this folder as well.

4 thoughts on “Milestones

  1. I keep telling myself I’m going to organize my patterns–take a photo or download one and organize (note what box/drawer it is in) so that I don’t have to physically go thru them when I want one. Haven’t started. Hope some day I will. Congrats on meeting a milestone!

    1. I did the patterns a few years ago. At the time I was putting the envelopes into binders. Scanning the envelope front and back took time, months. But when done I suddenly found myself with 3 feet of shelf space. Eventually I copied my patterns to my Skydrive so I can look at this index no matter where I am. I divided that chore up in sections. First sleeveless tops, then sleeved, jackets vests, etc. It made my efforts immediately usable and encourage me to continue.

      Thanks for your congrats. A pat on the back is always welcome.

  2. Congrats. I completely understand what a huge job that is…. she says as she continues to sort through pictures. When you do delete that file, it’ll feel light and freeing, energizing and open to a world of new possibilities at the same time as it feels like a firm committment to yourself and your best. At least, that’s how it feels for me.

    1. I remember your post about the pictures and related it to my own. I plan to tranfer the NotLikely to a CD. Generally CD’s sit in the closet for a long time but it’s easier to get rid of them knowing that I haven’t needed to reload anything for years. I know that’s waffling, but sometimes it’s easier for me to let go in stages.

Comments are closed.