Planning 2013 Spring 6PAC

SD is in the depths of winter right now and it’s hard to think about planning a wardrobe for spring.  We will still be experiencing deep winter until the end of February.  Then it starts warming just a bit week by week. I should say degree by degree.  I nearly always feel like true spring weather arrives and is replaced by summer over a one week span of time.  From the first of March through the end of May, most days I will still want long sleeves and long pants.  I’ll wear my corduroys and wools through April and then start switching out to cotton duck, denim and twill.   Essentially, I keep wearing my winter wardrobe but remove a layer at a time and then change to lighter layers just before summer.

Nonetheless I am thinking spring wardrobe because ejvc has already started the Sprinc 6PAC Topic at the Stitchers Guild.  I’m looking carefully at my closet but already know that I will work with 3 basic colors, 3 different 6PAC’s , in Navy Blue, Chocolate Brown and Slate Grey.

My check list looks like this

NAVY BLUE

Pants #1 DONE

Pants #2 NEEDED Jeans

Top1 (Matching) DONE PP103 long sleeve T with horizontal ruching

Top 2 (Print or contrasting) NEEDED

Top 3 Vest NEEDED

Jacket DONE

CHOCOLATE BROWN

Pants #1 DONE

Pants #2 NEEDED 

Top1 (Matching) DONE Loes Hinse 5210 Long sleeve in  slinky

Top 2 (Print or contrasting) NEEDED

Top 3 Vest NEEDED

Jacket DONE

SLATE GREY

Pants #1 DONE

Pants #2 NEEDED 

Top1 (Matching)  NEEDED

Top 2 (Print or contrasting) NEEDED

Top 3 Vest NEEDED

Jacket NEEDED

UMMM I have a lot of sewing todo. Several of those “NEEDED” annotations could be rephrased by “NEED TO REPLACE” because I have been clothed all winter.  A number of these garments were made 2-3 years ago and are showing their age.  Contrary to the green movement, I don’t wear things until they have holes in them. Once they lose their eye appeal they become grungies (for cleaning chores), rags or trash.  I also grow tired of some clothing and even though it’s still good remove it from my wardrobe. Then there are the items sewn but never loved and seldom worn.  Those items generally go to Goodwill. I could use any of the long sleeve tops currently hanging in the closet as my contrasting/print tops.  But I’m craving turquoise and red so I will be adding at least 1 top in each of those colors.  My plans will not include short sleeve tops.  I don’t wear them very often. I seem to want either a long sleeve to keep me warm or no sleeve to cool me off.  When I review my clothes and determine what I wear and what I don’t, the short sleeves stand out as not being worn because of not being weather appropriate.

****************

More so than my other posts, this one is subject to updates as I decide specifics.

