3/21/2013

**********What I did to reorganize my sewing rooms yesterday:

I’ve finished sorting and stacking the HomeDec and sheer fabrics. I pulled several off the shelves because I knew I wouldn’t use them. Either the colors are wrong or the overall tone is dark. Anything that was light-colored  and 2 yards long, I put into the muslin box.

There are lots of colors I can wear. There are lots of colors that are flattering. But there are definitely colors which are unflattering for me as well. Green is always unflattering. Always.  Whenever I wear green people ask me if I’m feeling well (or ill). I was quite disappointed because I thought green contrasted well with my eyes and hair. Green reflects in my face as sickly.  I have similar problems with red purples and blue-reds (which may be the same colors.) Except they don’t make me look sick, they make me look beat up. I’ve had a few people offer to go with me to the sheriff’s office, hospital and counseling before I eliminated these colors from my wardrobe. It is an odd color property in my mind.  I have a yellow undertone to my skin. But particular colors will  bring out the dusky blues of deep veins, especially around my eyes.

I wonder why I’ve gotten some of these fabrics into my stash.  I know I’ve found a few at the fabric stores in  Sioux Falls.  I can’t say that the stores have the best lighting. But I can’t completely really blame them. The thing is, when I go there I’ve made a 3-hour trip, spent the night and am facing a 3-hour ride home. If I don’t buy something that really appeals to me now, it’s gone. I won’t have another opportunity. I’ve regretted not buying certain cuts and I’ve made several purchase mistakes because of the crunch, now-or-never factor.

I’ve also made a few mistakes with on-line purchases. Monitors have improved considerably. I’ve learned to trust my monitor instead of the description. Apparently we don’t all call the same color by the same name. It’s too bad that P-color company was so selfish.  They could have become the standard for the industry. They could have become eternal. Instead, we’re all out here struggling to communicate color-perceptions. Another problem is that a sample just doesn’t tell you what it’s going to be like in person.  I’ve got at least 3 fabrics in the muslin box because I knew immediately, this was not a fabric I could wear or use in decorating. I kinda expect that this will happen again in the future.

I also realize I must do something with the sheers.  I don’t know if I need a goal like I did with the Under2’s and the crepey, sliding difficult to manage fabrics. That certainly did work. I think back again, how did I get so many? I bought several deliberately. Some I couldn’t tell while they were on the bolt that they were sheer. I knew they were light weight and I was thinking summer.  Only when preshrunk and I was folding to put away did I realize, I’d never wear or use these alone. Some came in the door because I didn’t read the on-line description.  I’ve learned to avoid anything that says not only sheer but also very light weight. These fabrics, don’t get used. I didn’t know how many there were until I started grouping them by weight instead of by color. It’s something to consider in the future.

Today I can look at the entire 8′ tall set of shelves and know that it is perfectly organized from top to bottom.  From top to bottom everything on this set of shelves is something I use or want to use. Everything is in it’s right place. Where I can find it, use it, or donate it.

