Multi-Position Hoop

As I said yesterday, the Brother Multi-Position (MPH) is a different animal from the mega hoop and from multi hooping.  You could have a project that would still need multiple hoopings. Think of a table-cloth for which you want a 12″ design on each of it’s 4 sides. You’d need to hoop each of the sides. If your chosen design was 12″ long, you’d choose the MPH because you could make the least hoopings.  Let me explain, you still have the same embroidery field. The embroidery field is the largest size your machine can embroider at one time.  For the 770, that is 5×7″.  I could choose to split and make multiple hoopings but I specifically purchased the MPH because it’s hard to align the designs precisely when I have to hoop a second time. With the 5×12 MPH, I can split the design, hoop once and stitch out one side of the table-cloth before proceeding to the next.

I understand the concept of the MPH, which is to hoop once and then reposition the hoop at the machine instead of repositioning the fabric within the hoop. Already it sounds like a more precise operation. But I wasn’t sure how exactly this was going to work and I had a hard time wrapping my mind around the process.   The MPH is divided into 3 embroidery fields.  The 5×7″ field at the top of the hoop is called Field 1 and when I work in Embird, Embird calls the design in this area Object1.

Completely below field one, at the bottom of the 5×12  hoop, is another 5×7 embroidery field called Field 3 and Embird calls the design within this area Object 3.

If that’s all they gave you, you would always have a line or space between the two fields as if you’d let the software split the design. Knowing we like to avoid that look, they designed the clip on the side of the hoop so that when repositioned from Field 1 to Field 2 ,  Field 2 will overlap Fields 1 and 3:

I’ve never seen this as clearly indicated anywhere else.  Even when I get into Embird, I have a hard time seeing the 3 fields. But so far, I follow the reasoning. I’m supposed to position my design in the hoop and split it into the 3 fields. So I choose a design I think may be easy to split and bring it into Embird.   I position the whole design in the center of the hoop. I think there is no problem with position the design to cross only two fields like 1 and 2 or 2 and 3. But I’m trying to wrap my head around this and choose the plunk the design right in the middle. On screen it looks like this:

In Embird, I changed the hoop to the MPH which added a bunch of dashed lines my print screen function wouldn’t capture.   To show you something similar, I drew in 3 solid line boxes, red is Field 1 , green Field 2 and blue Field 3.

Onscreen, they are dashed and not easily visible. Oh, and my lines are not the right proportion.  I realized that the major object would fit square inside of Field 2 if it was adjusted slightly.

The the string of boxes could be divided and split into Field 1(red) and Field 3 ( blue)

I had to move the whole design upwards just slightly to fit inside Field2. Then I split off the top string of boxes into Field 1 and the Bottom string of boxes into Field 3.  Embird shows 3 objects on the side of the screen.  These objects can be rearranged so that they stitch out in a different order. For example.  The light green thread of Field 2 needs to be stitched out after the dart green, but it doesn’t matter if it is stitched before or after the red and grey threads. So I moved the light green to be the last stitched thread in Object/Field 2. Then I moved Object/Field2 in position to be stitched before Field/Object1 and left Field/Object3 as the last object to be stitched.  The thread list shows the dark green, red, grey threads followed by 3 instances of the light green. The advantage of this is that I don’t have to thread the light green thread 3 times. I thread it only once as the final thread to be stitched in Object 2. I will stitch Field 2 first, then move my hoop to position Object/Field1 for stitching and start the machine again.  When Field1 is done, I reposition so that Field 3 will stitch and start the machine again.  The PE770 does think it is a thread change and clips the thread between each hoop repositioning.  But you could do it differently. You could leave all the objects in their respective order and control it at the machine. Heck, you could save yourself some confusion and thought by just threading the light green thread 3 times. Point is Embird will allow you to make these decisions at the planning stage in the software and then save the design, as 1 design to the media.  My default media, is the hard drive. From there, I copied a single file to my thumb drive.

When I got to the machine, I inserted the thumb drive and from the menu selected the USB option:

Because I have only a few designs on the thumb drive, they are read and displayed very quickly. I did have to use the arrows to page forward to my desired design because I’m still working on the FSL table cloth and have those designs on this thumb drive.

Do you remember me writing that I saved and copied 1 file?  I did. If you read the thumb drive through Explorer, it shows one file. But the PE770 reads the file and realizes there are 3 objects to be stitched.  The menu displays a choice of 3 objects.  This is where you could choose at the machine to stitch in a different order.

There is one more object, Field3, not visible on this screen. PE770 displays only 2 objects at a time.

I touched the object on the left and then the load button.

The screen clears and then displays 2 of the color objects to be stitched and names the first thread to be threaded. It also shows that the large hoop (5×7″) is selected.

Again, there are more than 2 threads to be stitched. PE770 shows only 2 at a time.  When those 2 are down, the next 2 will be displayed. It’s a small screen. You really don’t want more displayed.

I just thought the whole above process was so kewl. When the first object is finished, you press the design object, which displays the screen with the USB connection and repeat the process, select USB, select design, select load.

A critical item I have not mentioned is that  you must install the hoop onto the machine for the Field/Object you will be stitching.  The MPH has 4 sets of  circular openings in its clip.  Use the top two (1 and 2) when stitching Field 1.  Use the middle two (2 and 3) for stitching Field 2 and the last two (3 and 4) when stitching Field 3.  You’ll notice that circular openings 2 and 3 are used with two different Fields.  It works.  I think it was very clever of someone to plan that the circular holes could be shared.  It means that less machining was needed during manufacture which means less manufacturing costs and hopefully less cost to you and I.  I didn’t take a picture of the side of the hoop. I’m sure if you purchase an MPH  you’ll recognize what I have been  discussing and know how to use it.

OK enough for today. My final hurdle was hooping the fabric so the design would stitch where I wanted it.  I share that experience tomorrow.

 

PS Another reason to love the PE770.  When I installed media, ATA cards, in my Janome, it goes nuts.  The Janome wanted to reformat and couldn’t find something.  If I made the mistake of putting the ATA card in the slot before the Janome was started and placed into embroidery mode, the only solution was to turn off the machine, remove the media and start over.  The PE770 recognizes the media, as media with desigsn.  It happily boots and, reads the thumb drive and is ready for action.  It’s a little thing that makes embroidery just that much easier.

