Don’t want to sew a wardrobe?

Yesterday, I shared my Autumn 6PAC and ranted about one of my favorite soap box topics:  People who join wardrobe sewing but don’t want to plan and  sew a wardrobe.

I see this all the time, not just on the 6PAC topics.  Every SWAP someone wants to deviate from the format or not do any planning. Hey it is sewing WITH a plan. Planning is a good mental exercise. Planning your wardrobe could get you out of the Monday morning “I don’t have anything to wear” blues.  I’ll also read “why does everything have to work with everything?”.  Do you want to look good? Do you want to look put together? Then your clothes need to look put together.  They need to look good together. At the end of nearly every SWAP there is someone who confesses that the whole experience, (including the detested planning, including making sure the garments worked together and the proportions are good)  was one of the best experiences of their life. One issue that doesn’t always crop up until well after SWAP is “I didn’t sew for the life I have”.  But that’s another subject.

What I really want to do in this post is offer alternatives to mindless, boring wardrobe sewing.

  • Sew what you want and don’t worry about us. It’s OK. Sewing isn’t likely to save that much money. Not really. Not if you include the costs of your machine, thread, patterns, fabric and the endless notions we buy.  I do believe that sewing should first and foremost be a creative experience that is enjoyed. IMO, you should sew what rewards your psyche and not worry about us. Plus, once you accept that this is a creative endeavor, you won’t worry about the costs.  You buy the machine(s) that you want. The fabric that makes your heart sing.  The patterns that make you drool. Let yourself go. Do you want to share whatever it is you did sew.  As of Oct 2014 SG has 32 Sharing and Inspiration topics.  Let me tell you, there is some real eye-candy in these topics.  We’d love to see what you’ve done, too!
  • Do you really need 6 blouses?  Join the Shirt A Month group. You won’t be exiled if you can’t make a shirt every month or if you make all 6 blouses in the first month. You will get lots of help, moral support and compliments
  • There are also threads for Pants (if that’s what you want to sew)
  • Want to explore a particular pattern line?  Like Marfy, Burda, Ottobre or Style Arc.  Each has their own following and thread at SG and these aren’t all.
  • I can’t think of a sewing topic not to be found at SG. Do an Advanced Search with a key word.  ( I usually select “Search in Topics Only”) Find what you are interest in, read and share your own experience and ideas.

 

I don’t mean to be obnoxious. Truthfully, I don’t think this post will change people wanting to join a wardrobe sewing top but not sew a wardrobe. I think what happens is that SWAP draws people into SG. They get fired up and want to join but they want to sew what they want to sew. That’s OK. I hope I’ve offered at least a little encouragement and some topics you can use to share your particular sewing interest. You don’t have to sew a wardrobe. We’d love to see anything you are sewing or have completed.

One thought on “Don’t want to sew a wardrobe?

Comments are closed.