Goals for 2015

I’ve been thinking new goals for several weeks.

  • Sheers
    • Still on the list.  I’ve not reduced the sheers significantly nor is using sheers a habit. I need that tickler just to even be thinking about sheers
  • Redecorate Sewing and Stash Room
    • I don’t foresee replacing furniture this year(which I did consider) or even rearranging the existing furniture. The layout works for me. I also like the creamy white of the walls and light tan/grey of the floors.  It was necessary to add room size carpets. The downstairs is a basement. It gets cold and stays cold. I adapt by adding carpets for the highly trafficked areas and in the winter keeping rooms size heaters on low.
    • I do want to replace the fabric accessories with the new fabric.
      • table mats
        • current size tends to slip forward at an angle
          • larger
          • weighted
        • Serger mat is needed.
          •  While the serger is not bad at walking around, I do need a place to put the few tools I use during every sewing session. The little drawers are not working in that regard. I tend to put things in front of the drawer cabinet, thereby blocking the drawers. Also I unconsciously lay the tools down rather than reach forward and put away. Sometimes it is just better to accept and adapt to your habits.
      • Curtains
        • just for the sewing room. The stash room has blinds which are nearly always closed.
        • Behind the Cover Stitch i.e. where I take selfies
      • Cutting Table Tool Board
        • Two hangers instead of one
          • just because of the weight
        • Buy a quilt hanging system. Currently using Push Pins pinned to my cork board. The pins can and do go flying without notice. The hanger edge which pulls away the most is also showing damage from the pins. The current system was a test. Would I use it? How would I use it? It’s a successful test. Time to get a permanent fix in place.
      • Utility Closet. –There is agood sized closet with 2 shelves and the electric panel. It is therefore a utility closet.  It’s also behind the ironing board and a set of shelves, so not easy to get to.  It is where, I store things that I know I don’t need on a daily basis. But the space needed to be further divided to provide easy access to my stuff. Up to now, I’ve used cardboard boxes. After 8 years, the boxes are bending and weakened besides being ugly.
        • Permanent/semipermanent dividers that create smaller usable spaces.
    • Ribbon and trim storage; for some years have usedsterite boxes which are 6″ deep. This is too deep for the average trim roll and leads to laying rolls on their side to take advantage of the available space. This in turn means that I can’t see what’s in the box and a mess ensues as I dig through.
      • Find 4″no more than 5″ deep boxes for storage of the rolls
      • Sort the trim by color
        • Reds
        • Yellow
        • Green
        • Blue
        • Purple
        • Black, White
      • Label the boxes
      • Not sure how many boxes I will need
      • Put these where they are more readily accessed.
        • Top of the shelf doesn’t work because I access them too often
  • Continue experimenting with embellishment techniques
    • Have a Shoe Painting party on deck now.
    • Purchased 4 feet for my Ruby that need to be used
      • Felting Foot
      • Yarn Embellishment Foot
      • Small Beading Foot
      • Large Beading Foot (whose link I can’t locate)
      • Large Endless Hoop
        • I know the problem with not having used this hoop.  Whenever I use the Ruby for embroidery, I can’t be sewing.
      • Despite my steady acquisition of accessories for Ruby, I do not have nor plan to buy each and every one. I now buy accessories when I plan to use them, or after I find I can’t do my project because I don’t have the right foot.  That happened with the beading feet.  I wanted to apply a trim which had low level beads. I mean they were about 1mm high. None of my feet and I tried many, would ride over the trim and stitch it to my garment.
  • Refit all Loes Hinse Patterns
    • These are classic, easy to sew and always look good. Other than pants, this is the one pattern line that never gives me issues. (I don’t fit her pants block.)
  • LEARN TO DRAFT PATTERNS
    • Ive spent so much time and money on other people’s patterns. I like to think I’m rewarding others for their creative effort and for sharing their ideas with me.  But the truth is I waste so much time adapting their patterns to fit my body and my esthetics.  I need to develop the knowledge for drafting garment patterns. I believe (and could be wrong) that it will be similar to learning to digitize.  Lots of efforts up front, but once that is learning curve is climbed, digitizing is fairly simple and becomes faster and faster.  I think that drafting will be similar especially since I will be drafting for the same body over and over.  I have no intentions of drafting patterns for public sale.  I’m entirely selfish about this.  I want to be inspired by an experience, a photo, a museum exhibit, etc etc and then translate my inspiration into a personally wearable garment.
  • Create my own SWEATER KNIT YARDAGE
    • My shopping experience this year was disappointing.  I tried to keep an open mind but was sorely disappointed in the color range and styles available. Since I have both machines (KH 970 and KH260) it’s a shame not to create exactly what I want.
    • In the past, I’ve drafted and knit exact shapes. It’s a long process that creates a wonderful garment.  However, I do believe my garments will be just as wonderful if I knit yardage and complete the garments using Cut N Sew techniques.  I understand that Cut N Sew is not  couture.  I’m satisfied with garments I can wear that look good on me.  I don’t need to impress anyone with the inside of my garments.

Whew Lots of goals for 2015.  But this is good. This is the type thinking that keeps you young and living as opposed to just existing. I have a number of non-sewing related goals which I hope are in a private post.   I hope my vast number of goals is not regarded as a depressed state of mind. I am feeling quite good emotionally. All these goals fill me with energy. I feel the desire to get out of bed and do something.  I am a person that needs goals or I just kind of drift about.  There are times to pause and enjoy today for what today is. But there are also times to eagerly consider what could be and how to achieve the dream.

