Shoe Painting

 

I broached this subject several weeks ago at SG.  I’ve become very particular about what shoes I will wear and buy.  My highest heels, are never over 1.25″.  Even wedges aren’t much higher at 1.5″.  I’m retired. My life is mostly casual with a few dressier occasions and a few grubby activities. I prefer flats and low wedges for my lifestyle; and to be honest, I’m now afraid of falling. My last few falls have ended in pain and injury if not broken bones. Shoes were a big part of those falls. So I am now very careful and particular about the shoes I buy and wear.  Nonetheless, I’ve been able to find a lot of acceptable shoes as long as I want them in the color:  black. A few years ago, I could get all the shoes I wanted in black or red. This year it is black or what they call tan which is a muted orange to me. I want basic but nice looking, flattering shoes in black, navy blue and brown.  Wouldn’t mind an occasional grey, red or even orange but my mainstays must be black, navy blue and brown.

I remember in my late teens painting a pair of shoes.  The little paint cans were practically in every store. Along with good instructions and the few tools you might need. No more. Those kits are not to be found. At least in South Dakota.  That’s why I broached the subject of painting shoes on SG.  One of our members referred me to SassyFeet and this video. Based upon the view I purchased NeOpaque paints in blue, brown and black.  The NeOpaque blue was not a navy blue.  If this worked I planned to add a little black to dull the blue into navy.  If it doesn’t work, I have more basic colors for painting Tshirts and the like.

I purchased the leather shoes above just last December.  The color is Pewter which I thought might be close enough to wear with my brown based 6PAC. Unfortunately, I didn’t like the metallic shine on my feet.  Every time I glanced down, I was startled and had issue associating that glare with my feet. So these would be my trial.  I used rubbing alcohol (as recommended by Sassy Feet) to clean the shoes before beginning to paint.  I was hesitant about using the recommended fan brush.  My previous experiences had been with applying blush or a facial peel using a much wider fan brush.  The experiences were less than satisfactory.  The brush sucked up enough peel for 5 treatments and put that on my face. Not good.  However, it hardly picked up any blush.  Or maybe it picked it up but did not deposit on my face. So I was really surprised when the 1″ fan brush worked wonderfully.  It was able to spread paint a wide ways and still get into the cracks and crevasses.  I did have a few whoops! Which I tried but failed at completely removing. I used both the Q tips recommended and a much finer tip DH offered me. The Qtips were not the problem.  I am the problem.  I think I was blinded and didn’t see many of the whoopses until both coats were applied and the shoe completely dry. I used the spoon to dip paint from the jar into my paper cup. I did not use either of the two optional brushes. The fan was more than sufficient.

As instructed I applied one coat of paint.  Let it dry 30 minutes.  Then applied a 2nd coat.  I can understand why they recommended sealing the surface with floor polish.  After both coats are dry, the shoes are very dull.  I grabbed what I thought DH was using on “his” kitchen floor.  Using the cosmetic wedge sponge I applied the finish.  I think the wedge was a good choice.  I didn’t have any issues with fuzz or loose bristle brushes. The thin end easily pushed the finish into cracks and crevasses and then applied the finish over the entire shoe.  I applied but 1 coat of finish.  My experience with floor finish is that when it gets too thick it cracks and flakes or becomes cloudy.

After the shoe was completely dry and ready to wear, DH advises me that I didn’t use the floor finish he uses in the kitchen, but the cabinet restore.  Oh well. The only way to tell if that was a mistake is by wearing the shoes.  (I may have a future updated post. So far, so good.)

 

One thought on “Shoe Painting

Comments are closed.