Sewing Room Curtain

A goal for this year, a goal that actually began last year but I didn’t act upon until this year, was reorganizing and redecorating the Sewing and Stash Rooms.  Progress made today, is a lovely new curtain for my sewing room.:

My Sewing and Stash rooms are in the basement.  My basement is fully finished with at least one casement window installed in every room. These rooms are light filled. I have a good blind in the stash room and have arranged the fabric shelves so as to prevent the sunlight from fading the fabrics. The light is that good. I would actually prefer not to have a curtain on this window, except that my neighborhood always has kids. That’s good thing. But kids will be kids and I decided several years back I didn’t want to explain to parents any state of disrobement that might be observed during fittings. Because kids will be kids and will look into windows.  Initially, to give me the privacy I thought I might need,  I bought a tension rod and pinned a small bit of yardage on it.

This was supposed to be temporary but has served it’s purpose for about 8 years.

I don’t mind making curtains and drapes.  I read some posts where I can actually “hear” the person groaning about “all those long seams”.  To me it just entails “pedal to the floor” sewing and a whole lot of ironing.

My fabric “found” me. It was in the stash. A crinkled cotton bought from Walmart eons ago.  I love these crinkle cottons. I have several and am absolutely delighted to see them reappearing in this year’s spring and summer fashions.  This one fell into my hands as I was rearranging some of the stash.  There is one dark corner in the basement. No smell fortunately (because whoever finished the basement did a dang fine job).   But the light doesn’t seem to reach that corner. The whole room would be great for a day sleeper but this corner is particularly dark. Good for fabric storage but difficult to see what fabric is stored. We’ve tried putting lamps and pole lights into the corner. Currently, there is a shop light hung from the rafters especially to lighten the area.  I opted to rearrange fabrics and put the white and yellow fabrics on the bottom shelf (of the shelves stored in this corner). To my surprise this rearrangement visibly lightens the corner. During the process, this crinkled cotton voile drops into my hands and I know immediately that’s what I want for my permanent curtain! OK, permanent as curtains can be since window coverings generally need to be replaced every decade or so.

I measured the curtain (18″tall 30″wide) and cut my fabric from selvage to selvage 36″ long. I did my embroidery (first pic in the post).  I’ve had it for years and years. It’s such a beautiful embroidery that I’ve saved it for something worthy. I changed the colors to closely match the colors of the edging.  The edging is 4″ folded in half.  It’s cut from a cotton canvas fabric I discovered just before Mill Ends closed and knew immediately I wanted for these rooms. There is but 2 yards and no hope of buying more. Wanting to coordinate the two rooms but not totally consume the 2 yards, I opted for the edging. The cotton voile was embroidered; the edging folded and serged to the raw edges; and the voile folded in half. I offset the edging so that both ends show. Finally, a single line of straight stitching 2″ from the folded edge defines the casing for the tension rod.  Did I mention that I wanted this peek proof?  That’s why I opted for two layers of voile.   Total time from start to hanging was about 4 hours. I embroidered at the Ruby (instead of the PE770) because the embroidery design was larger than the PE’s hoop and the design was not easily split.   While I love Ruby’s embroidery, I usually have her tied up with actual sewing.

I’m really very pleased with the final effect:

so much so that it has inspired an in-progress Home Dec project and I finally ordered the last of the containers I need for paint.  More posts, coming up.

 

