My Stitch Creator

Yippeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!  The reason I purchased the Brother Dream over the  equivalent Babylock Destiny:  My Stitch Creator (MSC).   Also, BTW, this feature is the reason I even looked at the Brother.  I attempted to utilize the Vikings ability to combine stitches with directional sewing  to replace my 1630’s Bernina Stitch Designer functions. I came close, but it just isn’t the same as being able to plot the exact design wanted.

I was amazed at how easy MSC  is to use.  Maybe it’s because I didn’t have to install and learn a whole separate software. (Plotting stitch points is  just another editing screen with a few different buttons. ) Maybe it’s because I knew that this feature is not for digitizing stitch intensive designs.  (I learned that with the Bernina software. Even a hundred was too many points on a decorative stitch.)  Maybe it’s because I’m much more computer savvy than when the Bernina software was sold.  Whatever the reason, pointing plots in ‘My Stitch Creator’ is a cinch.

I started with something very simple.  I knew I needed to understand– really understand not just hear and say OK– the stitch width and lengths that would be produced as they corresponded to the dots on the screen. My first attempt was a simple horizontal sweep back and forth with points set across (horizontally, width) at every 4 dots 3 times and then at 2 dots . Then 3 dots forward ( vertically, length) and repeat the horizontal points but in the opposite direction.  I can tell you, it looks very big on the screen but not so much IRL

I intended the first test to be just a test. But I’m thinking of keeping it for future use. It is a rather interesting ribbon and my mistake (*can you find it?) produced an interesting variation not in other similar stitches.

I next plotted the squares on point (last example in the manual).  It was difficult for me to read the text horizontally but  vertically plot points on-screen. While frustrating, because my screen is not oriented the same as the text, I learned to expertly use the up-down scroll, block, insert and delete functions. I moved through the stitch 3 different times before finding that I had missed a point. It was my disconnect between horizontal text but vertically plotting.  So yeah, a personal issue. One that I need to work out.

I was disappointed that I couldn’t copy and paste or mirror.  I’m not sure if I’m just inexperienced or if I missed something.  It’s a question I will be asking my dealer because the Squares on Point is the same square copied and pasted once then mirrored.  It would have been so much easier to copy-paste-mirror than my solution to plot the 21 stitches a second time but reversed!

 

As with the decorative stitches, these are not view or editable in either Buzz Tools or Embird.  Why does it matter? Well I was a Systems Analyst for a long time. My @n@l nature sometimes bites me, forcing me to look again and look for other options. Also, while I’ve proved I can plot points on the Edit screen, I’m more comfortable working in front of my 20″ PC monitor. I find it slightly easier to move my pen and tap to place a point than moving a cursor by using screen buttons on a 10″ screen.

Did anyone wonder what size the screen was?  Same as an IPAD but still smaller than my 12″ tablet or 20″ PC Screen. If you’re in my age bracket, you’ve watched TV on the same size (10″) screen at some time in your life.  Don’t you much prefer the 36, 48, 52″  in your living room now?

What’s next? Not on to embroidery– yet.  I purchased a book specifically about the Brother Stitch Creator and I want to revisit some of those attempts to make Viking create decorative stitches.

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

*My Mistake:  I should have added one stitch point down 2 dots from the last plotted point.  Each bar in the stitch would have been evenly spaced. As it is, the last bar and the beginning of the next repeat is squished together slightly.

