Dream Machine + Viking Feet

Why would anyone want to use Viking Feet with a Brother Machine?  That’s what I was asked when I posed the question of possibility.   I see the point of view. Brother’s feet are engineered to be compatible with Brother machines i.e. no issues no problems.  Another point is that Brother included nearly everything possible with the Dream Machine; in the price of the machine. So why the interest in using feet from another source?

Several people volunteered that they preferred a foot or two from another machine. I may find that to be true with a few feet but for now I’m forcing myself to work with Brother’s feet so I can master this machine. But  I was particularly interested in using a beaded trim. I don’t have a Brother foot that works with beading.  I have a Viking Beading foot. In fact I have two.  One I’ve never used. AND I just bought them last September when the Dream Machine wasn’t even on my radar.  So here’s the response I got:

The Dream Machine is a high shank machine. There is a low shank adapter included with the machine. (Brother anticipates you might have or want to use a low shank foot at some time during your sewing life.)

Use size A or class 15 bobbins.  The Dream includes a bobbin adapter for the L type but it’s better to use the size the machine was designed to use.

The Dream Machine XV8500D uses category J feet or Brother ‘sa’ feet for 7mm or less. Be sure not to go over the 7mm.

The Dream Machine can use generic, screw-on, high-shank feet.

The Dream Machine can use generic snap-on feet that fit it’s high-shank snap on adapter. Viking feet are too narrow where they connect to the snap-on.

On my own I found that the Dream Machine can use Janome snap-on feet. Every Janome foot I still have works perfectly.

To use Viking feet with the Brother Dream Machine:

  • Attach the Viking Shank to the low shank adapter.
  • Remove the Brother shank from the machine. Screw the low shank adapter to the pressor foot bar and slip on the Viking foot. Voila:
  • View from Right
  • Straigth on
  • View from left
  • Notice that the screw which holds the adapter to the bar is now on the opposite side than when it attaches the Brother High Shank to the pressor bar.
  • DH did have to open the hole on the Viking Shank a little. The screw Brother provided was just a bit large for going into that hole.  I understand that several other ladies have had the hole drilled out and someone mentioned that they’d found a longer screw.

 

Experience:  It WORKS!  I tested with my Stitch-in-the-ditch Viking foot because I like it better than my Brother.  Technically it works, guiding the stitch evenly but it stitched to the right of the well of the seam instead of directly in the well.  Perhaps I could reposition the needle. Maybe I should just accustom myself to using the Brother foot

Then I put my Brother J foot on the Viking Shank. (The J is equivalent to Viking’s A foot meant for straight stitch or light zig zag.)  I broke a needle. I was top stitching around a neckline. At the shoulder, the needle struck the back of the opening in the J foot.  Left a dent and a snag (removed with  emery cloth0. Possibly, I could have pushed the little button in for uneven seams. Except, I’ve used the Brother foot several times and never had issues sewing over the shoulder seam until I added the low shank adaptor and Viking Shank to the mix.

My conclusion, use the Brother feet with the Brother shank.  Use the Viking at your own risk.

I’ll probably be buying the Brother Beading Feet.

 

 

