My 3PAC

We had a week or so of wonderful spring-summer weather. It started me thinking about summer and got me sewing a 3 Piece Coordinated Blouse set.  First, although sewn 2nd, is this camp shirt:

using a Rayon Challis and Connie Crawford 5047.  I like the fit of this and don’t plan further changes.  I do realize that different fabrics may affect the fit and of course, I do want to copy details from RTW. But it’s good. Just like it is.

Next, although sewn first, is this flirty, layered, quarter-sleeve blouse

I used my basic block developed from Connie Crawford’s 1201 and two silks. Lower level is a pongee that is darker and has a subtle nap. The upper is plain weave, light weight silk but I don’t know what it is called.  I had fun with this garment. Spent a long time playing with the layers and tucks.

Last sewn and shared, is a sand-washed silk blouse

for which I modified Louise Cuttings Hearts A Flutter shell.

All 3 blouses make a grouping appropriate for my life style and climate. I’ll wear the camp shirt a lot during the next few weeks (late spring) transitioning to the quarter sleeve and tank tops as the weather warms.  At that point, the camp shirt won’t be put away. No it will become a summer jacket much-needed in highly air-conditioned spaces like doctors’ offices.

Worn here with black jeans:

but this 3-some works well with my blue and brown basic bottoms which for summer are light-weight, long pants and shorts.

I’ve been sewing ‘collections’ for so long that it’s the way I think.   I mean I look at the fabric and envision not only what it will become but what I will wear with it. Consequently, I do find that most of my collections become extensible i.e. I planned to wear these with navy bottoms but quickly accepted that the black and brown collections were also possible.  I have a few yellow garments that will mix nicely with this set as well. I found a pair of olive-y green pants that I thought orphaned, also look nice.

I think putting together a wardrobe is multi-faceted. You can’t just choose your colors. You also need garments that work in your life. For example, I have no prom gowns. None. Because I’d never wear them. You also need fabrics that work for your lifestyle. I have few wools and even less fleece. I love wool. But I’m not willing or easily able to provide the care wool requires. As for fleece, let’s just say it has limited use. A little more casual than I prefer.   Then there is fit. My nemeses. You can have a beautiful wardrobe but it looks ugly when it doesn’t fit. So when I look at this collection and say I’m happy. I want you to understand, I’m really happy even if I can make some criticisms. It’s my color; my style. Fits relatively nicely and works well with other garments in my closet.

Aren’t I just too cool?

 

4 thoughts on “My 3PAC

  1. Bev, so glad you are very satisfied with your three pack/ coordination with other bottoms. I agree with you that the color, fit and style for your life is just perfect. And the outfit is nice enough to wear to a nice restaurant or activity. You are very wise not to sew with fabrics that you don’t like to upkeep or fit your style. I also ignore fleece, for it is just good for a very few winter days. And I don’t wear items with an athletic feel. I have really enjoyed watching this grouping come to fruition. Pat yourself on the back. I am also so glad I receive your blog on a regular basis.

    Karen

  2. I’ve been following your journey and it has giving me some food for thought. You have a great 3pac.

Comments are closed.