Officially Started: September Sewing Room Gussy (2nd Attempt)

Note:   This is my first post in which all the pics are hosted in the Amazon Cloud.  Please leave a comment if you have any issues viewing the pics. ~ TIA

I’ve had several comments that my pics are not visible. Surprising because I had 2 people check and verify they could visit and see pics before I published it for everyone else.  I’ve been absent (lots of fun at an Embroidery Class) and don’t know exactly when the pics quick being visible. Not only are they not visible, but the code isn’t even in my post. How does that happen?  So I’ve corrected my post for the first 2 pics only;  once again inserting the needed link and verifying that my pics are publicly available.   I’m doing my best to make this work because Photobucket may have fixed the multiple login issue but they are still the slowest site  I visit.  I’d like to have an alternative in case Photobucket goes south again.

I’ve mostly worked with my fabric stash in bits and pieces. After other projects were done.  When straightening was needed. That kind of working at it.   On Aug 31, I put my entire effort into arranging the fabric stash.

I not only refolded and restacked but changed my stack organization and culled fabrics. I still have my basic Black, Brown and Blue shelves. However instead of the overflow going from one shelf to the shelf below, it now continues horizontally onto the next set of shelves. I.e Black fabrics are arranged with solid pants-fabric stacks, followed by tops and then prints with black. Next to that are 3rd layer fabrics (jackets/coats, vests and sweater knits) and finally Under 2’s (fabrics less than 2 yards in length).

Repeat for Brown and Blue

Accent colors are arranged  mostly in rainbow order, on  Shelf 01  (Pink/Yellow Cream)

and below the Black Brown Blue on Shelf 02 and 03. Other than the Red shades and tones, my accent colors need only 2-3 stacks. Apparently, I’m very good at either a) not buying accent colors or b)sewing them quickly

Either way, the finished shelves above are very neat.

I tackled the drawers next. Yes I have drawers too.  Linings and lingerie type fabrics tend to be slippery.  The shelves will become a mess through the action of gravity. Yep real, actual gravity in the stash room.  Fabrics sitting on top of a slippery lining will respond to the forces of gravity and slide down until they leave the shelf and land on the floor and usually take several other fabrics with them. For this reason, I bought drawers. Plastic Steerite Drawers that I always meant to replace with something good but 10 years later are still doing the job they are supposed to do.

Albeit, messily

I decided to roll the linings like I did the interfacings.  I’m wanting 2 things out of this exercise. Yes I want my drawers to be neat but I also want to be able to find the lining that best works for the project.  So I rolled, rubber banded and then placed into drawers based upon weight: knits, transparent, light/medium and heavy.

I left the lingerie fabrics in the same chest as before which is the same as the interfacings.  While I was rolling I also culled anything with fading, stains or I admitted, I just didn’t like. I also found a few light weight ‘sweater knits’ (still annoyed at having been sold transparent fabric for sweater use).  I moved them back to my dress fabric stacks. Having struggled with them last year, I know what to do this year.  The end result is I have an empty drawer!

Which is especially good since I’d like to replace this particular chest. It is wider than the others but just doesn’t hold together.  I’m forever tearing it apart and pounding things back in place.

Last I turned my attention to the muslins. I culled anything dark.  I decided there was no sense in making a muslin if I couldn’t see the wrinkles in the pics.   I also pulled out a couple of nasty feeling polyesters and some stiff cotton, linens.  The remainder was sorted into 2 stacks, bottoms and tops; also putting like fabrics together i.e. ponte, stretch, woven.  I have at most 4 of each fabric type which results in two  nice neat stacks of  test -garment fabrics.

I pick up the box of fabrics I call ‘Art Fabrics’.  These are usually small cuts of fabrics I plan to paint or felt and at least pretend I’m artistic.

I discovered that I had two new stacks, 1) the fabrics I set aside for summer shorts and 2) the white/cream fabrics I bought especially to be contrast collar and cuffs.

The rearranged shelf:

On the top row: muslins, then art fabrics and to the far right DH’s camouflagea he hopes  dreams I will sew.

2nd row: pens/pencils then a box of folders and stationary supplies followed by accent peach and red fabrics.

3rd row: accent fabrics of peach, pink and rose

4th row: white collar/cuff fabrics, jeans fabrics, accent yellow and cream fabrics.

Bottom row: the styrofoam container for my Brother Embroidery Arm and Hoops.

I culled each step of the way. In fact, I insisted I at least cull fabrics I didn’t like.  All of my old corduroy fabrics are gone. I had several.  They take up lots of space on the shelves. I no longer like to wear the old corduroy fabrics.  I’ve gotten accustomed to varies ranges of stretch. Those 20-30 year old fabrics are very movement restrictive as in straight jacket-esque.  I thought I might want to make jackets. No they’ve sat another 2 years in the stash without even been considered.  Truth is, I no longer makes suit sets (jacket and pants) because I no longer wear suit sets. I’m retired.  When you retire you clothing needs change.  I found I can be business appropriate with a nice pair of pants and a neutral 3rd layer. That’s whenever I need to be business appropriate.  Mostly I am casual (but not cow chasing casual) and one step nicer which to me is casual coordinated. Or should it be casual put together. Accessorized casual?  Whatevs, I don’t need to dress in formal attire or suiting.  My cull resulted in 5 boxes (only 4 shown) destined for Goodwill.

This time through (I’ve straightened, organized and culled several times in the last 10 years), I felt no great relief nor guilt.  I’m just carrying out a necessary task. I straighten my fabric shelves throughout the year. But generally it’s one or maybe two shelves — not the whole shebang.  Having them all straightened at once is really nice.   I’m hoping the new sorting order (bottoms, tops, prints, 3rd layers, Under 2’s), will spur some creativity. Although creativity as taken a hit this year as I struggled with fit and taken up pattern drafting.

An immediate benefit of this organization is being able to evaluate ‘my stock’. I can tell you, I shouldn’t buy anything with Brown in it.  Just skip the browns for at least the next 6 months. I’m well stocked in every brown category except the Under 2’s.  Generally my Under 2’s are the remnants from other projects.  Black has even more fabrics and a generous accumulation of Under 2’s. My Blue’s have only a few Under 2’s but are well stocked with pants, tops and prints.  While anything black or brown should immediately be ignored, I could buy a carefully curated Blue fabric.  I was surprised at the state of my accent colors. Definitely have an over abundance of pink/rose/peach and red. But these are my favorite neck-side colors. Still it would behoove me to lay off purchasing these for the next 6 months, too. I was surprised to find that I had olive, forest, teal and purple pant fabrics. All relatively new, too.  I think it stems from a time when I tried to dress in one color, head-to-toe trying to make myself taller (and thinner). Now I’m older and while I still care, I also know that what I am is what I am.  In the future I’d say I should not stash, greens, or purples at all.  They do tend to go in the stash and marinate for a long while.  At least the black, brown and blue’s only rest briefly.

If I can have a goal, as relates to the Stash Room, it would be this:  All my knitting yarns on Shelf 01. All my fabrics on Shelf 02 and 03.  Other things needed in the Stash room (Embroidery threads, stabilizers, patterns etc) On Shelf 04. I can tell you right now that I’m going to be wearing a lot of Brown in the fall and Black this winter. I will not promise to sew exclusively from the stash. I know from experience that I will need something.  If I need something not in the stash, I’m going to buy it. Hopefully, only it.

 

Well I’m off.  While the fabrics are stacked neatly, I still have much more to do to spiffy up this room and I havent even started on my Sewing room.

 

 

15 thoughts on “Officially Started: September Sewing Room Gussy (2nd Attempt)

    1. How odd. Even the link/code is completely missing! I’ve correct the first two photos. Please let me know if they aren’t visible. TIA

      sdBev

    1. How odd. Even the link/code is completely missing! I’ve correct the first two photos. Please let me know if they aren’t visible. TIA

      sdBev

    1. How odd. Even the link/code is completely missing! I’ve correct the first two photos. Please let me know if they aren’t visible. TIA

      sdBev

    1. How odd. Even the link/code is completely missing! I’ve correct the first two photos. Please let me know if they aren’t visible. TIA

      sdBev

    1. How odd. Even the link/code is completely missing! I’ve correct the first two photos. Please let me know if they aren’t visible. TIA

      sdBev

    1. How odd. Even the link/code is completely missing! I’ve correct the first two photos. Please let me know if they aren’t visible. TIA

      sdBev

    2. How odd. Even the link/code is completely missing! I’ve correct the first two photos. Please let me know if they aren’t visible. TIA

      sdBev

Comments are closed.