Buttonholes

The Wannadu Jacket is a soft flowing shape.  It’s a large shape, perfect for embellishing and since I’ve used the pattern before excellent for trying new-to-me techniques.  In addition to painting the buttons (which I didn’t originally intend to do), I also wanted to revisit a button closure technique: attaching a cord to a finished edge.

The first time, I worked with thing round elastic. It was fussy and I didn’t do that good of a job. This time I worked with a cord formed by cutting my fabric 1″ wide; folding the cut edges to the center and then folding the folds together. Like you would do for bias tape. I attached the cord starting at the hem on the left side (the button side) up and around the neckline using a the rail road stitch. Well I think of it as a rail road.  It’s one or two stitched forward then one to the left, back to center, one to the right back to center and repeat. There are no zig zag’s.   I marked the position of the button holes with chalk.  I would stitch 1/2″ away from the mark. Make a secure stitch.  Slide the garment up under the foot just under an inch and then start the rail road stitch up to the beginning of the next buttonhole. Where I would again secure, slide forward and stitch some more.  After the final buttonhole, I stitched all the way to the hem joining the cord and the folded edge of my garment.  Finished it looks like this

dscn6312_resize

Which open up nicely for buttons

dscn6313_resize

and closes around the button beautifully

dscn6314_resize

My issue is with beginning and end the cord attachment

dscn6315_resize

I can do it neatly, but not perfectly

dscn6316_resize

I’d really like the hem edge to be perfectly level.  It’s a button/closure technique I like and will use again.

 

