Bulletin Boards

I like bulletin boards.  I have several throughout the house. I’ve found that they are invaluable for corralling things at least temporarily and over-time do little damage as say compared to multiple applications of double-sided tape or thumb tacks.  In my Stash Room

North Wall above the Wall Pockets

North Wall above the Wall Pockets

West Wall

West Wall

the bulletin boards are handy places to hang frequently used tools (like my rotary cutters) and also things that need to be kept handy (and not lost) for the current or even next project.  Things like pattern pieces or the perfect-for-this-jacket shoulder pads. Unfortunately these things tend to accumulate. As part of the cleaning process I removed everything from both boards.  Then I was aghast at how ugly the boards were.  So I rough cut and dipped in starch two pieces of the fabric I was planning to use as binding.  After my bulletin board fabrics dried, I starched  and dried them a second time.

I cut them to final size using the rotary cutter with the pinking blade.  They still didn’t feel stiff enough but I wasn’t sure how much effort I wanted to invest. At this point the chosen fabric didn’t WOW me.  It looked dark. Maybe too dark for the room. But I proceeded because none of my fabric stash looked as good with the fabric of the Wall Pockets (which were already trimmed and bound with the same fabric.)  I pressed the cut, pinked fabrics carefully and then reinforced the wrong-side edges with interfacing from a 1″ roll I bought from Pamela’s Patterns  and can’t remember why I purchased.

I put the fabric up on the bulletin boards using push-ins so I could remove them just as easily when I find the ‘right’ fabric.

North Wall

North Wall 3′  wide, 22″ tall

 

West Wall 22″ Tall, 18″ wide , which IRL looks more like this:

When finished, I think I like them. It helped that I removed, filed or discarded most of the stuff that was up on the boards.  I have no doubt there will be another accumulation and another clean-up in my future.  But right now, I’m thinking more along the lines of adding some ribbon around the edges.  Cover up the pinking and the almost-fits look. I have to admit, the fabric actually makes the room look brighter.

North Wall

North Wall

East Wall

East Wall

