Summer Closet Review

I continue to review my existing summer review and have to say:  I’m glad I started immediately.  In a matter of a few days we went from 50F day time highs with ice crystals in the rain to 80F.  I need summer clothes now!

The next category I reviewed was Summer Dresses.  There are some days I can’t exist with a summer dress. They cover everything while allowing free-flowing, cooling air to circulate — everywhere. They are so perfect for get togethers even weddings because I can be a little dressy but still comfortable and coooooooooool.  But I don’t need many.  More than 3 and some will tend to gather dust in the closet. I discarded a few last year and sewed a couple which didn’t make it through the summer. A light weight linen was stiff and added pounds to me in every photo taken. It was a wedding. There were many. So I started this summer with 3 dresses on-hand and did I mention they are all long dresses?  I find the long dress is better at slimming my figure.  Between ankle and mid-calve so that I don’t trip going up and down stairs.  I knew one of my dresses probably needed to be discarded.  I made it several years ago using KS2734

and top stitched with embroidery thread.  Made from a high quality cotton/poly, the dress itself is still lovely.  The top stitching is shabby. Worn. No longer holds the vent in place.  In addition to that my pics show that my round back has added some ugly drag lines during wear. Yep that one is in the discard pile but with an RBA the pattern is still good to go for this summer.

The 2nd dress, I purchased off the rack at the end of summer. It’s one of those dress with multiple rows of elastic gathering across the bodice.  Needs no fitting really. I grabbed it and ran because I loved the color/print and they had one in my size.    It had one other definite advantage:  wide straps. Yep straps that would cover my underwear.  How many of you really want to wear a garment that shows your bra straps?  Even my new, edgy granddaughter thinks that’s gross.  I wore the dress a few times last year.  DH loved the color and told me I was lovely.  I took photos this year and decided he was seeing the girl he married rather than the woman I am today. Boy it is tight this year. I almost don’t need a bra. This dress has enough rows of elastic, stretched tight enough to hold my girls in place (I’m the Barely-B you follow. Not much to hold up. Anyway)   The proportions is all off.  This is just long enough to brush the tops of my knees. Not a good look for a short, plump, mature, well-padded woman. But I didn’t put it in the donate or discard box.  I played with the elastic just a bit and discovered the elastic was easily removed.  I love the color and print and once the elastic is removed I’ve got 1-1/4″ yard of 62″ fabric.  I’m thinking of making a T-shirt dress. T-shirt on top with this fabric added to the bottom to make a dress.  Anyway, currently it is one less for 2017 Summer Dresses.

The last dress really should be in the discard  pile.

It’s a rayon challis (love that fabric) made several years ago from KS2599

It has 2 issues.  The fabric is fading badly and I don’t like how close to the neck the shoulder straps are.  I prefer the armscye of my garment to go straight up making it look like I have shoulders. (I’m also the very narrow, very sloped shoulder blogger you follow.)  But I like how it skims all the lumps, even from the side view

Admittedly, I’m not terribly slender. No one would mis-diagnose me as anorexic. I know this.  But I’m happy when my garments just skim my curves so you can tell I’m a woman but can’t tell how many curves I really have.

So that’s it. I start with 1 dress I can wear; 1 dress I will use to make another, and 1 dress that I like the pattern but need to add an RBA to tweak the fit.  Those old Kwik Sew patterns were worth the money. Can’t say that for many of the newer patterns. The old ones were printed on heavy paper.  You got multiple sizes, all of them in fact. Usually there was one to three versions.  But most importantly to me, they were classic styles which could be easily adapted to trends.  It’s so much easier to create a wardrobe when I’m not fitting.

2 thoughts on “Summer Closet Review

  1. I think that last one looks OK, and sits nicely on your shoulders. However my shoulders are a similar width to my hips from the front so maybe viewpoint is different?

Comments are closed.